About the Organisation

RAPHAEL was founded in 1959 in Dehradun (Uttarakhand) jointly by Group Captain Lord Geoffrey Leonard Cheshire of Woodhall, VC, OM, DSO***, DFC and his wife, Baroness Sue Ryder of Warsaw, CMG, OBE. Their mission was all-encompassing – the relief of suffering.

RAPHAEL is a duly registered charitable society governed by a Memorandum of Association and Rules and Regulations. It caters to the needs of the economically weaker sections of society in the State of Uttarakhand and the neighbouring districts of North Western Uttar Pradesh.

RAPHAEL provides all its facilities and services at no cost to its beneficiaries and is entirely dependent on its benefactors for financial support.

Know Us
Gen Bakshi & Leonard Cheshire

Leonard Cheshire was one of the most distinguished pilots of the Royal Air Force (RAF) during World War II. In 1948, after his discharge from the RAF on medical grounds, he set up a hospice in his own home – nursing and caring for the sick and dying. Later, this grew into the Leonard Cheshire Disability charity which lent support to the disabled throughout the world. In 1991 during his last visit he handed over the care of Raphael to Major General Ranbir (Rummy) Bakhshi, MC. Leonard Cheshire died in 1992.

Sue Ryder served with the Special Operations Executive (SOE) during World War II. She was closely associated with Polish service personnel operating behind enemy lines in German occupied Poland. After the War she was deeply involved in providing relief to the survivors of Nazi Concentration Camps and refugees in war torn Western Europe. She set up the Sue Ryder Foundation and The Lady Ryder Warsaw Memorial Trust to provide shelter to the homeless and disabled. Sue Ryder passed away in 2000.

Charitable Society

RAPHAEL is registered as under::

  • 07 Dec 1962: Registrar of Societies Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow vide Registration No 564/1962-1963. Renewed for a period of five years vide Renewal No 424/2015-16 dated 10 Oct 2015. Valid up to 10 Oct 2020 (Renewal under process).
  • 09 Jun1980: Income Tax (IT) Department, Dehradun (Act 1961, Section 12 A) vide Registration No 40(4)/Registration/79-80/DDN. Valid for perpetuity.
  • 24 Jun 1982: Income Tax (IT) Department, Dehradun (Act 1961, Section 80 G) vide Registration No 19(4)/Kar Mukti/Nyaik 81-82 DDN. Valid for perpetuity.
  • 04 Jan 1985: Foreign Contribution (Regulatory) Act, 2010(FCRA) vide Registration No 347900103. Valid up to 01 Nov 2021.
  • 18 Jun 1998: Persons with Disability Act 1995, Section 52, vide Registration No. 17. Valid up to 24 April 2023.
  • 09 Mar 2002: Rehabilitation Council of India (RCI). Renewed vide Registration Renewal No 8-377/D.Ed.Spl.Ed (ID))/RCI/2024 dated 09 May 2016. Valid up to the end of academic year 2020-21.
  • 20 May 2002: National Trust. Renewal vide letter No URAP16513752594 dated 27 Feb 2017. Valid up to 26 Feb 2022.
  • 2012: Niti Aayog vide Unique ID No UA/2012/0052498 – Regn. No. 564/1962-1963.
  • 16 Oct 2019: Juvenile Justice (Care and Protection of Children) Act, 2015. Valid up to15 October 2024.
  • Medical Pollution Control Committee; Valid up to 31 March 2025.
  • The Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education Act, 2009; Valid up to November 2024.

RAPHAEL’s Permanent Account No (PAN) is AAAAR2808Q.

Raphael is currently the State Nodal Agency Centre (SNAC), Uttarakhand for The National Trust for persons with Autism, Cerebral Palsy, Mental Retardation and Multiple Disabilities.

Governing Council

Governing Council

A Governing Council constitutes the “governing body of the Society”. It is responsible for the “supervision of the work of the Society and the management of its affairs”. It comprises 12 elected and 2 ex-officio members. It meets every quarter.

The elected members of the Council are citizens of Dehradun. They represent a cross section of professions – social work, academia, business, law, medicine, finance, civil services & the Armed Forces. The ex-officio members are the Commandant, Military Hospital, Dehradun and the District Chief Medical Officer, Dehradun.

Governing Council members are not in receipt of any kind of remuneration for the services they render.

Name Gender D.O.B Occupation Member
1 Lt Gen RK Nanavatty (RETD) M 18/05/1943 Indian Army Chairman
2 Lt Gen PC Bhardwaj (RETD) M 27/11/1950 Indian Army Vice Chairman / Land, Buildings & Infrastructure
3 Ms Sunita Garware F 27/11/1946 Business Fund Raising
4 Ms Indu RV Singh F 10/03/1933 Social Worker Public Relations
5 Dr JN Kalhan M 30/12/1939 Medical Medical
6 Mr JM Singhal M 09/06/1966 Advocate Legal Affairs
7 Mr GIG Mann M 16/09/1963 MLA & Educationist Liaison State Government
8 Lt Gen GS Negi (RETD) M 24/11/1944 Indian Army Human Resource Management
9 Ms Jyotsna Brar F 19/05/1953 Educationist Special Education & IT
10 Brigadier AAS Sinha (RETD) M 1/09/1945 Indian Army Finance
11 Dr Arun Kumar M 11/10/1946 Medical Fund raising
12 Ms Mamta Govil F 27/03/1967 Educationist Special Educator & Marketing

Senior Management

Name Position
1 Ms Priyo Lall CEO
2 Col V Hansen (RETD) Administrative Officer
3 Dr Sudhir Peshin Director Medical
4 Sanghamitra Ghosh PRO
5 Ms Nikita Rastogi Accounts Officer




How you can help



We welcome volunteers/interns, overseas and Indian. We provide accommodation and food, at a minimal cost.



Donations can be made in a variety of ways towards any of our 3 main focus areas.